50 Poems a Day Project – 10 Key Learnings

So it is finished – 50 days, a poem a day.

Many might look at this and think big deal, a poem a day sounds easy enough. I know I have met other bloggers who have done it for longer. My sincere respect goes to them.

For me it was a big thing because I was writing in a style I cared very much about but I hadn’t devoted anytime too over the past few years. This was something I had to do. A sojourn to discover if this was it for me. I was also putting myself out there without training wheels on – no practice! The anonymity of the blogging world helped make this less real, but it was still difficult.

MANY THANKS to everyone who has begun following me throughout this period. I will still be writing poetry and will post as I can. All the comments, suggestions and support have really encouraged me. I am very thankful for finding this blogging world to really motivate me again and share the journey with other like minded souls. The talent out there is not to be underestimated and should always be encouraged.

For those thinking of undertaking a similar project, or are just curious, here are my learnings:

1. I live in a busy house, finding 15 minutes of ‘me’ time is not such a simple thing. Some days I had to compromise.

2. I wrote when I was sick – and I mean really sick – complete with fever and muscle aches whilst trying to assist a sick toddler and an infant. This was a hard week.

3. I wrote when said toddler and infant had ‘bad’ days/nights – I think any parent can understand these challenges. Particularly those who are raising poor sleepers.

4. I wrote when I had writers block. This pushed me to write things I otherwise wouldn’t have. I had back up material lying around in unforeseen circumstances such as any of the above happened. I didn’t use this once. I realised this would prevent me from pushing myself and figured it was cheating against the task and myself. I had to keep going even when it was hard. Sometimes this produced good work, sometimes not.

5. I had to let go of perfection. On average 15 minutes including editing and posting, doesn’t leave much room for error. Some days this extended to 25 minutes, some days only 5. This was my capacity. I had to learn to deal with it.

6. Time frames are really motivating – and debilitating. Some days they work against you. When I remembered, I could think of material for a poem alone (admittedly in the shower is the only ‘me’ time I have) and often it is before coffee so my brain is not usually switched on heh.

7. I made a mistake – a big one. Halfway through I decided to enter a poetry competition. A really big deal kind of competition. I began focusing on this poem too much and the quality of my 50 days work was compromised over this period. And the poem for the competition also suffered – in fact I never even submitted it!  One project at a time grasshopper!

8. Writing poetry is what I need to do. It is no longer something I will do “when I get time”, it is no longer something I can just put off until the kids are bigger, till I am not working, till my husband is less busy. To me this is like breathing. It is part of who I am and I want to do more.

9. I need to improve. I still have a long way to go. I need to cement my editing processes and concentrate on accuracy going forward.

10. I had to give up something else. In such a busy house I couldn’t fit this in. Over this period exercise went out the window. I do need to find a balance here. I know this will be better when Husband is less busy.

** KEY LEARNING – I will be putting the above into practice but will be self publishing a poetry book about Tasmanian Life. Planning will commence immediately with details to come. It is a big project but I am very much looking forward to it. I am not sure what this means to my daily poetry, but I will have to figure something out. The practice is integral to my work.

So there you have it. If you are thinking about starting a similar project – I encourage you to do it. Now. Don’t over think, just do.

Thanks for listening 🙂

6 thoughts on “50 Poems a Day Project – 10 Key Learnings

  1. Mim… If could write a poem a day for fifty days and turn out the quality of poetry that you have presented us with… I would be exceptionally proud of myself. Congratulations on your accomplishment and the very best of experiences with your book. Many of us have benefited greatly from your poetry throughout this period of time and of course… we’ll be looking very forward to more of it. Thank you so very much for sharing it all with us…
    Michael

    1. Michael, thank you so much for your wonderful encouragement and support. It is wonderful to hear that people not only read my work but actually enjoy it too (!). I still have much to learn but your words inspire me to keep at it. There is so much more I want to do but the beginnings of my journey have been such an awesome experience – particularly connecting with poets across the globe. It is really opening my eyes to the talent out there. I’ve always been a firm believer in benefiting from the advice and expertise from others. Please keep up with your poetry, I always look out for your posts and enjoy them immensely. Cheers
      from down under 🙂

      1. Thanks MIm… That encouragement is a wonderful thing to experience and when it comes from fellow poets and writers, it just makes it that much more special. You’ve brightened my morning. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

